A Gathering and Departure of Gray-striped Cats

I think it is the Christmas letters flying back and forth: I am nagged upon at this time of year, pushed, and urged and reminded that friends look for my blog posts, and complain that there have been no new ones and they are tired of the old ones. And I admit: it’s been a year, about, since the last one. An annual blog post does seem like fairly little effort.

But what to write about?

In the last, I spoke of the several cats that had come to us, an abundance, it seemed, of gray-striped cats. Cats are desired on a place. A place with a barn needs cats to keep the rodents down. A place with a garden needs cats to keep the gophers at bay. In the interim between cats, when our beloved, efficient Yellowcat 10mar_yellowcat1  had expended all of her 9 lives, and the new cats were not yet established in their art, I lost a well-grown Benjamin Britten rose, a young lilac, and lot of dahlias from the garden. I lost tulip bulbs, and daffodils. Strawberries. Daylilies. Carrots. A place needs cats.

We had meant to have Gollum’s Precious and two from her litter to stay with us. Yellowcat’s standard of performance was so great that we thought it would take more than one cat to match her. But Gollum’s Precious, who had come as a wanderer and had what I thought was an uncomfortably large territory, made a mistake one day in regard to the road. So she used up all her lives in a moment, and left us. The kittens were on their own by then, two had gone to another farm home. That left us two for ourselves: Cobweb and Moth, little brothers in mischief.

15feb_cobweb_moth1_cr_sm

In the fullness of time, we took them to the doctor for their exams and alterations. The vet told us, with actual tears, that Cobweb had a pretty serious heart murmur and would not be with us long. Well, we thought philosophically, he’s with us now, and he’s a happy little barn cat, 14jan01_Cobweb1_cr so it didn’t seem like we needed to take any action in the matter. It wasn’t long, though, before I found him one day,  curled as if in sleep in the soft springtime sun beside the path. He wasn’t asleep really, but had gone on before, leaving Moth to take care of the gophers.

14nov10_cobweb1_cr_sm

This one cracked me open a bit. I am, for the most part, stoical about farm losses. When we lost Gollum I was angry, because that was the fault of a careless veterinarian. I was resigned when we lost Gollum’s Precious on the road, but we knew she was a stray when she came, and she had found a good place to have her litter, and then strayed again. I was philosophical when we lost a ewe a while before; she got herself rolled down a little hill next to the fence and couldn’t get upright, and I didn’t find her in time. I was even able to be calm when a dog raided our rabbitry and we lost 2 bucks and a doe.

But now my sweet, happy Cobweb cat had died and, though forewarned, I was tearful.

But we have Moth, who is ready, curious, underfoot, and … hardworking.

15nov26_mothasleep_sm

So, at the end of this year of cats, I would like to offer an homage to the lineage of Moth as we know it:

13dec_deckcat_cr_sm

Gollum, feral visitor.

14jul04_precious1_cr_sm

Gollum’s Precious, lady traveler.    

14aug31_Preciousandkittens2_cr_sm

Gollum’s Precious and her kittens, the issue of two wanderers.

So, friends afar, here is at least one little blog post from me. I think, a year ago, I promised to do better. It almost seems superfluous to do so again. But… all right. I’ll try to do better.

 

 

Published in: on January 2, 2016 at 3:07 pm  Comments (16)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://skepweaver.wordpress.com/2016/01/02/a-gathering-and-departure-of-gray-striped-cats/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

16 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Definitely wish you would keep up your blog. Becky

    >

    • Oh, I do sigh. I know. OK. Yes. (And thank you!)

      S.

  2. That was good to see and read, Susan! All those good cats. Your photos are lovely. Love, B.

  3. A lovely tribute to some singular and lovable cats. At least Moth has you all for a not so furry family.

    Good to have a new blog post and some beautiful pictures.

    SharonO

    • Thank you. We do hope he stays around for a while, don’t we?

      S.

  4. About time (she says, gruffly)…but good to read!

    • Well, and Happy New Year to you, too, dear.

  5. A cat post with a sense of life’s arc – perfect for the New Year.

    • Thank you, George. Happy New Year to you, too!

  6. And there it is – The Mystery – wrapped in bits of fur.

    • We never do know the rest of the story, do we? Not from this side.

      S.

  7. Almost had me in tears. I enjoyed your post very much. I hope you will keep blogging – I just found you!

    • Thank you. I wonder how you found me?

      S.

      • I hopped over from Bibfessor’s blog.

      • Oh, good! I love Bibfessor!

        S.


Leave a Reply

