Dark and Light

A  month or so ago, amongst other winter observances, we hurrah-ed the Solstice as if the sun were about to give us balmy days and springtime. Astronomical markers and conditions on the ground are not necessarily the same thing. We are pressing through the dark months here, the weeks of shortened daylight, the days of chill wind and rain, and ice. Solstice is the beginning of winter, and the edges of winter overlap both autumn and spring.

Here, a roadside apple tree on a frozen morning is so seasonally decorated, we think how it must have come to someone to hang colored balls on a tree for midwinter. The next good wind storm will dash them to the ground, but on this morning, they’re beautiful; abandoned and beautiful.

Our farm (where we would never leave apples on the tree into January, no matter how cheerful they be!) seems to sleep for now. Nothing much to do,

but huddle in a stump. The gardengoyle looks philosophical. It may be a long wait for spring.

But stop! There are signs of life in the woods and garden. Like tiny fires under the snow, Cotoneaster berries glow. They’re not really berries, but tiny pomes, like the apples by the road in fact. The birds seem to need to be quite hungry to take them. I suppose they prefer the fruits we would like to enjoy as well.

Fairy rings of tiny branching fungi have appeared in the tree lot. There will be dancing there in the moonlight, but you don’t want to see it. It never comes to any good when people go spying on fairies in the night.

Here in the woods I spy tracks leading off into the scrub. They might, I think, have been faun tracks. We are, after all, in the season of deepest mystery in the forest. Yes, I am pretty sure those are faun tracks. I’ve never seen the faun, or the fairies, but I’m certain they are out there. Who else could be walking through the snow with feet like that? I shudder to think of taking my barefoot toes into the frozen woods.

As a matter of fact, though I wear my wooly handmade winter socks as I sit here typing, I do not need to run barefoot after fauns to have the cold in my feet. My feet are always cold in winter.

With that thought, I will take myself upstairs now, where I have a secret going on in the attic. Here in the laboratory, under clinical light tubes, in plastic incubators…

the promise of spring.

We welcome you to this new year, little seedlings.

You, too, my readers.

Published in: on January 22, 2012 at 8:05 pm  Comments (6)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://skepweaver.wordpress.com/2012/01/22/dark-and-light/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Beautiful. Thank you.

    • You are so welcome, George!

      S.

  2. Well done. Touched an ancient and deep place in this existence. And, on my shallow, self centered side, I’m totally jealous of your starts : ) Which leads me back to, well done.

    • Thank you, Kraig. Now, get to work on that garden!

      S.

  3. Hi, Susan,

    It’s been a while. I loved this entry. It is currently snowing here, first real snow since October…it’s been a weird winter. We have about 9 inches, with more to come…

    Octavia Coopworth is acting a little weird, but isn’t due til 3/20 at the earliest. No idea what’s with her. I’ll keep an eye on her. When do you start lambing?

    • Hi! So good to hear from you! Pleased you enjoyed the entry. Our first lambs should be about the last week of March. I remember when I was so excited to be breeding sheep, I put the ram in at the earliest possible moment, and had them popping out in the bitterest part of February. I gave that up right away! Hope your Octavia is just having a mood. It’s way too early for her lamb(s)!

      S.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers